Malware Reverse Engineering

Random malware I found at work today and was messing around with, it was not detected by 4 antiviruses so I thought it might be interesting. Wrote up some quick info

I don't have the dropper all I have is what I found on an active infection. A coworker started deleting files so I didn't get everything, I stopped him and started making copies of what was left. Looks like infection occurred about 2 weeks ago.

infected machine was running windows 7

All files located in %appdata%/roaming/ + random folder names such as 5KHgSUq

random .lnk files in startup and run registry locations

The .lnks point towards the .exes in the roaming folder. Also a scheduled task was found pointing to the .exe. If you delete anything the files just get re-created.

Each randomly generated folder in roaming contains 3 files, a malicious .dll, a microsoft signed .exe from 2009-2011 time and a random file that is static amongst all those folders. The malicious .dll is listed on the import list of the microsoft signed executable. I assume it's using dll hijacking and these old Windows executables maybe weren't protected yet against this attack method.

 

One folder has these files:

slc.dll malicious, posing as windows file
VirusTotal

slui.exe signed by microsoft from 2010
VirusTotal

encrypted/obfuscated file in the same folders
VirusTotal

The second folder had the same encrypted file with a different random file name

dwm.exe from 2009 signed by microsoft:
VirusTotal

uxtheme.dll which was malicious but someone else deleted the file before I got to it, it's listed in dwm.exe's import list, like the last one

 

I removed the malware by:
Deleting 2 registry entries for Startup and Run
Deleted task
I ran KillEmAll to stop all unnecessary running processes
Deleted all the files
Restarted explorer.exe
Ran KillEmAll
Deleted the couple remaining files
Restarted explorer.exe
Confirmed clean

More info to follow if I have time to take a look later this appears to be dridex btw, you can read more here

More Articles from Reverse-Engineering